top of page
  • Writer's pictureLife Featuring Aliya

My Quick & Easy Spaghetti Recipe

Updated: Feb 16, 2019




"Life is Short, Lick the Bowl."


My favorite thing to do while I'm at home is.. COOK! And with the holidays being right around the corner, I thought why not share my go to quick and easy spaghetti sauce with you guys.


So with all that being said, I came up with with this recipe when I ran out of green peppers. Tragic! And I didn't know how to make spaghetti without a green peppers. But, I really wanted some pasta and didn't fell like going to the grocery store. I know, I know, please don't judge me.


Can I be completely honest with you. This will be my forever go-to recipe. This is the simplest spaghetti sauce ever, and it's absolutely delicious.


If you have a picker eater like myself, getting my daughter to eat anything is a struggle. But for all my moms out there, this sauce is toddler approved! My daughter absolutely loves spaghetti, so this was right up her alley.


HOW TO MAKE HOMEMADE SPAGHETTI MEAT SAUCE.


First, brown the beef and sausage. Make sure to chop up the meat finely as you go. After it's browned. Add the (2 cans) of tomato sauce, (1 can) of diced tomatoes, all the seasonings, and sugar. Also add water and bring the mixture to a simmer for 30 minutes of longer. The longer the simmer, the more the flavors has time to blend together beautifully.


TIPS FOR MAKING AHEAD AND FREEZING SPAGHETTI SAUCE.


This sauce tastes better and better with time. So feel free to make it the night or morning before. But don't worry even if you don't have time to make it the night or morning before, this sauce will still turn out delicious. Store it in the fridge for 3 to 4 days or freeze it. Before freezing spaghetti sauce, allow the mixture to cool completely. Label a gallon freezer bag and fill it with the sauce. Store it on a flat surface so that it freezes into a flat shape. Store it for up to 4-6 months. This sauce tastes great in spaghetti, baked ziti, and even better in lasagna.


The Recipe

Cook Time: 30 minutes to 45 minutes




Meats:

1 pound (LB) - Ground Sausage (Johnsonville)

1 pound (LB) - Ground Beef


Produce & Seasonings:

2 cans of Traditional Tomato Sauce

1 can of Diced Tomatoes (plain)

3 (tsp) Italian Seasoning

3 (tsp) Dried Oregano

1 (tsp) Garlic Powder

1 (tsp) Onion Powder

Pinch of Sugar

Salt & Pepper (season to taste)

Top Tip: Don't be afraid to be creative, make the dish your own. So feel free to add or take away ingredients to you see fit.




   IF YOU TRY THIS RECIPE! (Please let me know in the comments) 

152 views5 comments
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

   Sharing is caring 

       On The Blog!

bottom of page