top of page
  • Writer's pictureLife Featuring Aliya

How To: Adjust to being a "WORKING" Stay-At-Home Mom

Updated: Feb 17, 2019

"Parenting is hard but it's worth it"


When becoming a "working", stay at home mom I had this idea of what it was going  be like. But it turned out to be something completely different! I had a really hard time adjusting. Mainly because I thought I would have more downtime. It turned out to be more work than I ever expected.


There so many ups and downs being a parent. Especially for a working stay-at home mom. A life of unpredictable's. But every moment is worth it. I know there would be some sacrifices, but God choose me. This was my calling I knew I had to find a ways to thrive in this role.


Being able to work from home has it's benefits. It means that you don't have to work a 9 to 5 in an office all day, and you have more time to spend with your family. However learning to balance the two can be very difficult. Your still "MOM" as well as working! It can be tough to handle these dual roles. 


Here are some tips and tricks on how you can adjust to being a working stay-at-home mom! 


Tip 1: Get Dressed


I know this is the most obvious, but it hard to stay motivated to get out of your comfortable pj's. Since your not leaving your house. It helps to put your mind into work mood, and not relaxing time.


Tip 2: Ditch the Guilt


Being a working mom isn't anything to be ashamed of. You have to do what's best for your family. Sometimes that means "WORK" comes first. Instead of feeling guilty remind yourself why your working so hard to begin with. Is this how you make your money to provide for your family? Is it to give your meaning and purpose in your day? Just remember why you started this career choice in the first place. 


Tip 3: Working & Planning


It's easy to get straight to work without having a toddler running around, However, when you have a child who needs you throughout the day, time management is very important. For me, working while my child is napping, or asleep for the night is when working is most effective. This gives me the quiet time needed to work, and allows mw to be present with my daughter while I'm not working. Pre-Planning (Scheduling) is the key!


Tip 4: Adult Interaction


Connecting with other moms is a must. Being both a stay at home mom and a work at home mom leaves me feeling like I have no interaction with adult life. Finding someone who understand the parenthood struggles is important. Try to find connections though social groups, phone calls, online communities. This will help with the loneliness and isolation. Everyone is looking to connect so, it's not hard to make new friends.


If you have any tips on how to thrive with being a working stay-at-home mom, comment below! I hope y'all enjoyed this post as much as I enjoyed writing it. Make sure to "SUBSCRIBE", so you never miss an update of post. Oh, and don't forget to follow me on Instagram @lifefeaturingaliya to enjoy my day to day life. Until next time!

114 views8 comments
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

   Sharing is caring 

       On The Blog!

bottom of page