top of page
  • Writer's pictureLife Featuring Aliya

This is Black History


Disclaimer: I wanted to use my platform as a form of enlightenment. I wanted to shed some light on a very touchy topic, "Black History". This isn't about bashing another race or anything like that. This is me sharing some monumental events that happened to my ancestors. If you don't like what I have to say I'm sorry. I didn't make this post for likes, I made it to share knowledge.


(Sorry in advance for how long this post is, I got a little carried away.)



Black history, isn't just a month it's a movement. This month is not only about remembering where we came from but, also learning how to move forward. People say that, we've come a long way as a people but, I question that statement. To be honest not much has changed it's just being disguised in a different way.


Slavery:



Slavery started in America in the year 1619. If you didn't know what slavery is its a legal institution of human chattel enslavement, primarily of Africans and African-Americans that existed in the US. Even though that was 400 years ago slavery didn't end until the year of 1885, when the Thirteenth Amendment was signed and passed.


In Dr. John Alembellah Azumah book, he stated that in Arab slavery trades they typically dealt in the sale of castrated male slaves. Between the age of 8 and 12 they had their scrotums and penises completely amputated to prevent them from reproducing. Could you imagine? I can't believe they would go to these measures to stop someone from reproducing. Are we that bad?


Black Face:


Another topic I wanted to touch base on is "Black Face". If you don't know what Black Face is, its a form of theatrical make-up for non-black performers to caricature (make fun) of a black person. In 1830, the first Minstrel show was performed in New York where white performers darkened their skin using burnt coal or shoe polish, and also wore shabby clothing to mock slaves.


These performances portrayed black people as lazy, stupid, hypersexual, and cowardly. These characters grew rapidly throughout the 19th century. They even appeared in children books, advertisements, and movies.


Till this day people are still dressing in black face, even celebrities. Even shows have been cancelled over the subject. And lastly some high-end brands like Gucci has even tried to make this look fashionable. Are you serious?






Desegregation & Civil Right's Movement:




Even though slavery ended in 1885. Desegregation came much, much, later especially in the south. The United States wasn't completely desegregated until the year 1954. That's a huge, time difference. Let me re-cap slavery ended in 1885, right, desegregation ended completely in 1954, y'all that's a 69 years time difference.



For the people who doesn't know what segregation is, its a separation of access to facilities, services, opportunities like housing, medical care, education, and even transportation. Which was demonstrated towards different races. For example, during these times there used to be

white only diners, schools, bathrooms, parks, and much more. And if someone of a different race was caught using any of the facilities they was either thrown in jail or killed. This lead people to believe the phrase, "separate but equal".



Multiple act's of racism caused the Civil Right's Movement to take place. The civil rights movement was when a group of black activist like Martin Luther King Jr. was fighting to enforce the legalization of equal rights for African-Americans. The biggest one I know to date was the lynching of a Chicago teenager Emmett Till in Mississippi. This caused protests, civil disobedience, and boycotts such as the successful Montgomery Bus Boycott in 1955-1956 in Alabama.


It just amazes me how strong minded our ancestors were. The fact that more then half of the didn't own a car, and the only form of transportation was the bus. But, they still decided not to ride and to walk instead. Just to promote the need for change. That's amazing!


Colorism:


In my personal opinion, slavery is the main reason why colorism or shadeism exists today. If you don't know what colorism is, its when someone from your same race shows discrimination towards you based off the color of your skin tone. For example light skin vs. dark skin woman.



It all started back in slavery when the light skinned women was chooses to work in "Big House", instead of working in the fields. To where the dark skinned women had to work out in the fields. In less terms light skinned women was treated better because they were considered to be prettier, and more desirable. This also caused them to priced higher during slave auctions as well.


Colorism is still affecting the black community today. My sista's please stop, stop the hate, stop the destruction against our own people. Let me tell you something! No matter if your dark or light, purple or green, you are gorgeous! Because god made you exactly the way you were meant to be. And don't let anyone tell you anything different.


Disclaimer: If you would like to learn more about this subject there is a documentary on it called, "Colorism".


Black Wall Street:


I'm sitting here wondering why I wasn't learning about the riots against Black Wall Street instead of learning about the Boston Tea Party. Let me give you a little history lesson, Okay! The Boston Tea Party was when the British disguised themselves as Indians and took over several of Britain ships, and threw the tea overboard, as a form of rebellion against the tea tax.



Now, the riots of Black Wall Street is where mobs of whites attacked black residents and business in Tulsa, Oklahoma in 1921. Now some people might be wondering why this even matter? Black Wall Street was one of the richest "BLACK" neighborhoods in the United States during the 1920's. These riots was considered to be one of the most devastating massacres in the history of the United States. If this massacre was considered to be one of the worst in US history, then why didn't I learn about it in any of my history classes? Can someone please answer me that question?


The End:


I'm sorry I got a little carried away. So, before this post is too long and gets too deep let me just end it here. Let me make myself clear, once again this article isn't to bash another race or anything like that. I am simply spreading the history of my ancestors. I hope that as a people we can continue to move forward and continue to spread our legacies. This is Black History.


I hope y'all enjoyed this post as much as I enjoyed writing it. Please don't forget to "SUBSCRIBE" so you don't miss out on any updates or posts. Oh, and make sure to FOLLOW ME on Instagram @lifefeaturingaliya to enjoy my day to day life. Until next time!








69 views0 comments
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

   Sharing is caring 

       On The Blog!

bottom of page