top of page
  • Writer's pictureLife Featuring Aliya

This Letter is for My Daughter



Within this first one of the new year I truly toke some time to self-reflect. I set some major goals for myself, but most importantly I wanted express how thankful, and blessed I am. So today I wanted to write a thank you letter to my daughter. If you didn't know I have a rambunctious 3 year old daughter named Kenya. Who's the apple of my eye, so let's get started.



Dear Stinka,


I can't believe it's already 2019, it seems like yesterday when I found I was pregnant. I was absolutely terrified and excited at the same time. My biggest fear was that I wouldn't be a good mom. My biggest joy was finally having a child of my own who I could love, and spoil unconditionally. But, you taught me the true definition of being a mom is to be patience, to have compassion, to show empathy, and to always spread kindness. I know I'm far from perfect but being a mom is learning about the strengths you didn't know you had, and dealing with fears you didn't knew existed. So, I apologize in advances, because I might make mistakes, I might even say the wrong thing at the wrong time, there might even be a days that you hate me, but just know this, "Nothing", will change how much I love you. I'm still learning how to be a the best mom I can be, and I'm still learning how to be the best version of myself for you. But, you've taught me two key things that are the most important traits in life. Forgiveness and selfishness. Within these past three years I don't think you know how much you helped me grow into the women I am today, and for that and so much more I thank you.



When you arrived 3 weeks early at 8 pounds 4 ounces, I should have known then that you would be marching to the beat of your own drum. How did I get so lucky to have such a independent, curious, smart, loving, and funny little girl. I couldn't have dreamt you. My love for you grows for you a thousand miles a minute, everyday with you is the best day of my life. I'm so sorry you have to grow up in such a crucial world. But, let me tell you this never let anyone change your sprit, continue to shine brighter than ever. Because, your the true definition of purity. You have a smile that can light up a room, a smile that could brighten anyone day. Watching you grow has been an honor and a privilege. Don't forget that mommy and daddy always has your back no matter what. PERIODT! Thank you, for being an absolute blessing to our lives.



I wanted to apologize to you again because I wasn't ready! Even though being a mom is something I've always wanted but, it's also something I didn't fully understand. This was way different then playing house with my baby dolls. Because, I actually have someone who's looking up to me, someone who depends on me, and I didn't want to let you down. Even though I am considered to be a young parent I didn't want to be another static. I wanted to prove to my daughter that even if something happens unexpectedly that doesn't mean you give up on your dreams and admirations. So, I make this promise today, that I'll never give up trying to provide you with the best life possible. But, before I get to carried away I just wanted to say thank you, thank you, thank you stinka. For making a better me, For challenging me to do better for us and you, For picking me to be you mother, and most importantly for showing me the true meaning of unconditional love. I love you baby, more then you'll ever know. Don't ever forget that!


I hope y'all enjoyed this post as much as I enjoyed writing it. Please don't forget to "SUSCRIBE", so you never miss out on any updates or posts. Oh, and don't forget to "FOLLOW ME" on Instagram @lifefeaturingaliya to enjoy my day to day life. Until next time!



108 views6 comments
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

   Sharing is caring 

       On The Blog!

bottom of page