top of page
  • Writer's pictureLife Featuring Aliya

How To: Prepare For Preschool

Updated: Feb 17, 2019



“Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” -Nelson Mandela


Yesterday was my daughter's first day of preschool. I couldn't believe it. Wow, where did the time go? My little princess is growing up so fast.


She walked into the classroom with no fear once so ever, like a pro, which made me a very proud momma. So, who’s ready for a great school year? We are!


I wanted to take this opportunity to share my experience on how I got my daughter prepared for preschool, And I also wanted to shed some light on the untold reality of getting your child accepted into school.


Part of our job as moms is preparing our children for school. My child has been more than prepared for preschool using these few learning activities at home.


Flash Cards & Book’s


Repetition is the key, and flash cards are a great way to do that. Just taking out a couple minutes everyday can make a difference. For me it was a necessity that my daughter knew her basic skills first, like her color’s and shape’s. After those were mastered we moved onto more difficult subjects like her ABC’s, 123’s, and animals.


I also found that activity books were very helpful with making learning fun. For a toddler, learning new things can be challenging. But, if we made the learning experience fun it could be a whole new ball game. Finding the right activity book that draws your child’s attention, is the key. Just getting them to sit down for 5 minutes with the book would be a plus.


Don’t get stressed out or overworked if your child isn’t learning at a fast pace. Each child learns at there own pace and time. This is when the patience factor had to kick in for me. But each day we went over, and over, and over the material until it finally stuck.


The learning activities don’t have to be expensive for them to be effective, remember that.


Potty Training


Being independently potty trained was a requirement in order to start preschool. So, this was our most recent on going battle. But, she finally understands the concept of peeing and pooping on the potty. I discovered when I kept her on a schedule that was the most helpful. It became more routine then anything else. With that being said I’m happy to announce my daughter is finally “potty trained.” (Thank you, Lord)


If you guys would like me to go into further details on how I potty trained my daughter please let me know in the comment section below.


Finding a school & Paperwork



So, depending on your neighborhood your child is appointed to a certain school district. Which means there are a certain amount of School’s to choose from. I live in Colorado so different states have different regulations. So don’t follow me word by word, make sure to do your research.


I knew I wanted my child to attend preschool but I wasn’t sure how to go about it. I looked up some information on my school districts website, filled out the application, and sent in my deposit and left it at that. Awaiting for our acceptance.


But, little did I know with that acceptance here came all this paperwork.


I had to bring in birth certificates, proof of residency, shot records, doctors forms, etc. I know some of you are looking at me like, “well, yeah that’s regulations.” But look at it from my point of view. Being a first time mom I had no idea. I was in shock but thankfully everything worked out in our favor. She got approved and placed into a following preschool.


But, I’m so thankful that my child gets to experience the importance of the classroom. To finally learn and develop her social skills, her unique personality, and to acquire the basic learning and concentration abilities. There so much to gain with your child being exposed to preschool so please take advantage.


I hope this article was useful and helpful. And let me know in the comment section below. Did you cry on your child’s first day of school?


I hope y'all enjoyed this post as much as I enjoyed writing it. Make sure to "SUBSCRIBE", so you never miss an update of post. Oh, and don't forget to follow me on Instagram @lifefeaturingaliya to enjoy my day to day life. Until next time!


72 views6 comments
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

   Sharing is caring 

       On The Blog!

bottom of page