top of page
  • Writer's pictureLife Featuring Aliya

My (Natural) Birth Story

Updated: Feb 17, 2019


Today I'll be sharing my Natural Birth Story. This is how I gave birth to my first born child in "two-hours"! I wanted to share my story so here it is.


Even though it's been 3 years, I can still remember this day, like it was yesterday. I wanted expecting mothers out there to know the real tea behind, natural birth. But, before we get started let me saying this, I am not an expert this is my personal experiences and thoughts.


I also wanted to give a warning ” Do Not eat pineapples, when your 9 months pregnant"! Call me crazy but, I truly believe that's what sent me into early labor. Anyways, let's get into this story.


Early Labor


It was around 5 o'clock in the morning on August 8th, 2015. When I was awoken from out of my sleep with stomach pains. I didn't think anything of it, just thought I had to use the bathroom (TMI). So I went to the bathroom but, nothing happened, and I still had these stomach (cramping) pains.


So let me tell you something about my daughter. My daughter drained all the water out of me! I stayed dehydration throughout my entire pregnancy. So when I approached my significant other with my concerns he thought the exact same thing I thought that I was dehydration yet again. So, of course, he went downstairs and got me a tall glass of ice water. All in all, we went on with our day. My boyfriend went off to work like normal, and I stayed in bed. Around this time it was about 8 o'clock, and I was still very uncomfortable. I ending up playing some Jazz to relax, and somehow ended up falling back to sleep.

I was awoken by a text message from my boyfriend asking me, ”How I was feeling? I felt okay, but was still in a lot of pain. He suggested that I try to go take shower to see if that would help the pain. So, I got up and toke a shower. Taking a shower was the worst mistake I ever made. At that moments is when my labor jump started.


Am I in Active Labor?


So fast forwarding, I called the hospital and explained they advised that I came in to get check out. We finally arrived to the hospital, and of course it was on a Saturday so there was no vallet service or wheel chair assistance. So your girl had to walk to the labor and delivery ward during contractions (painful). But, anyways we got checked in and went back into the monitoring room. By this time it was around 12 o'clock in the afternoon. Keep in mind my water still hasn't broken yet.


When the nurse came and checked me I was about 1 cm dilated and my contractions was about 15 minutes apart. She came back in about an hour and I was 4 cm dilated and my contractions was still 15 minutes apart. At this point I was dilating faster then I was contracting.


So, the nurse gave me two options, I could go home and keep laboring or I could check into the hospital. Something told me to check into the hospital, because I had a feeling if I went home I wasn't going to make it back.


Alerting the family!


Side-note: we didn't alert any of our family members that we were heading to the hospital. Because if it was a false alarm, I didn't want to alarm anyone. You should alert your family anyway lesson learned.

After we alerted our family. My labor was progressing so quickly, I couldn't even prepare. I couldn't even talk on the phone or concentrate cause baby those contractions was jumping. My boyfriend had to rush and send out some group messages, and make a couple phone calls. By this time I was in active labor, and I wasn't capable of keeping everyone informed. Or being able to answer phone calls yet alone questions. So thank the lord for my boyfriend because he was handling business.



It's Baby Time!


After all this madness it was around 2 o'clock in the afternoon. An I was finally getting settled into the hospital and it was finally time to have this baby! I made a vow to myself that I wanted to have a completely natural birth. I made a birthing plan, I had a midwife, I basically went all out. But at that moment when I felt those contractions jumping. It made me completely reconsider having a natural birth. I thought to myself, maybe I should just get the epidural. I was losing my focus fast! But this is when my amazing support team step in and kept my eyes on the prize.


Labor isn't something you can prepare for even if you've done it before. So, my body was getting prepared. In the process I throw up. Which is completely normal. I also ended up having hot and cold flashes and the chills. I was just a mess!


But, my midwife was absolutely amazing! She had the most calming and relaxing atmosphere going. The lights were dimmed. I had essential oils diffusing. A very comfortable and welcoming environment. Even though I had all these relaxing methods, going. The pain was something I never felt before! It was a mix between really bad cramps and uncomfortably. But, the key is focusing on your breathing during the contractions instead of the pain. (easier said then done.). But, I promise you, you'll see the difference in no time. And thats that when I notice it wasn't that bad and I can do this.


Then, the big moment hit, I felt the urge to push! Within 15 minutes my daughter was born. An instant sigh of relief! She was absolutely gorgeous! My perfect little angel! I’ve never been so happy, I was finally complete!

Yes. I did it!


The sense of accomplishment I felt after having a 100% natural birth, was unreal. Not many women can say they’ve done that. That's on accomplishment I could put under my belt. I felt so lucky and blessed that I was giving this opportunity to be a mother.


My daughter was born at 4:30 p.m. She weighed 7lbs 4 ounces and was 19 inches long. My family and I was in complete shock, over of how fast I went through labor.

Oh, did I forgot to mention that my daughter was born a whole 3 weeks early! She wasn't even full term yet. But, thankfully there was no complications. So my midwife had no concerns about her coming early. If my daughter would have gone full-term she could have partially weighed up to 9 or 10 pounds. And nobody got time for that! I'm so glad I decided against the epidural, because by the end of the night, I was up and walking around the maturity ward with my new little family.



I just want to let any expecting mother or potential moms, out there know. If you put your mind to it you can accomplish anything. Philippians 4:13 says, “ I can do all things through Christ that strengthen me.” I'm a firm believer because women are amazing creatures and there ’s nothing we can’t do!


I’m sorry, if this post was a little longer or if I was rambling. But, I had to share my story especially for all the new mommies out there.


This is where my story ends. Please share with me your birthing experience. Did you go natural, or epidural, or did you have to have a c-section?



Also, I was thinking about writing a piece on How To Prepare for" Natural Birth". So, if you're interested please let me know in the comment section below. I hope y'all enjoyed this post as much as I enjoyed writing it. Make sure to "SUBSCRIBE", so you never miss an update of post. Oh, and don't forget to follow me on Instagram @lifefeaturingaliya to enjoy my day to day life. Until next time!

64 views5 comments
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

   Sharing is caring 

       On The Blog!

bottom of page